top of page

Nigeria Planning Series of 45 Small Hydro Plants

The minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, has inaugurated a committee to brainstorm on how to generate electricity from eight small hydro plants in Nigeria.

The plants selected include Tiga, Challawa dams in Kano State, Omi-Kampe in Kogi, and Jibiya zone dams in Katsina State. Others are Bakalori in Zamfara, Doma in Nasarawa and Ikere Gorge in Oyo State.

The committee which has 45 days to submit its report said the eight dams were chosen from 45 small hydro dams in the country.

Fashola said their terms include procurement procedure to civil and mechanical engineering works, taking cognizance of works already done and what needed to be done to quickly complete the projects.

Terry Robinson

bottom of page